This Week’s Purchases

I’ve been doing a bit of shopping this week, mostly beauty products, but also a new pair of boots. Here’s what I’ve been up to!

Hair

I don’t know if it’s the colder weather, or the fact that I take pictures of myself almost everyday, but I feel like my hair has been looking dry and damaged. To rectify the situation, I went to my new fave store, Ulta, and bought a few items to make my hair look a little healthier.

My first step was Clairol Shine Happy. I’ve never dyed my hair, but I assume that it’s pretty similar to using an at home hair dye. For about $8 you get a one time application of gloss that you keep in your hair for about 10 minutes and then a weekly gloss to put in your hair for 2 minutes. It was super easy and it really worked! I could definitely tell a difference the next morning.

I also bought Psssst dry shampoo (which came with a bonus shower cap, score!). I have never been able to go a day without washing my hair, and I think my hair has suffered for it. I tried some Tresemme dry shampoo a few months ago, but sometimes the original is the original for a reason. Psssst is awesome. For the last week I’ve been washing my hair every other day, and so far so good! 

I’ve been wanting to get my hands on Elnett for awhile, and I finally splurged on the $15 hairspray (not that big of a splurge, but usually I buy $1 hairspray). I think what really sent me over was when Joey used it on Rachel Zoe in one of the last episodes of The Rachel Zoe Project. Seriously, this stuff isn’t even like any hairspray you’ll have ever used (and with a background in show choir, I’ve been around the hair spray block). As Rachel Zoe would say, it’s bananas.

Nails

Some times being on Twitter really pays off. Zoya Nail Polish announced on Monday that they were having a special Halloween deal where you got 2 free nail polishes (usually $8/each) and all you had to do was pay $7 shipping. Score! I went for Noel (blue) and Holly (green) from their 2011 Holiday Collection and luckily I got my shipment in time to wear Holly for our Christmas card pic today! 

Shoes 

I have had my eyes peeled for a cheap version of these two-tone boots ever since Kourtney Kardashian was seen wearing a pair.

I knew if I held out long enough, Forever 21 would make a pair eventually. I gambled and I won! I’ve been checking their website daily to see if they had made a knock-off yet, and on Friday the Forever 21 gods smiled down on me. Until know, the cheapest pair of similar boots were $100. These were under $40! If you’re interested in them, buy them! Forever 21 doesn’t hold on to their good shoes for too long.

So that’s what’s been impacting my beauty budget this week! Can’t wait to show you some outfits with my new boots when they arrive!

2 thoughts on “This Week’s Purchases

  1. Hey Sarah! It’s great to see that you are doing well in Chicago! Such a cute blog….just like you! Just wanted to say hi and I’m reading! Miss you tons and bunches!

Leave a Reply

