My First Thanksgiving: Choosing the Brine and the Tools

Did anyone catch this week’s episode of New Girl? Zooey (like me) was cooking a turkey for the first time and, well, things got interesting. Let’s just say the turkey ends up in the dryer. And the dryer ends up dead.

Oh Zoe. I hope my turkey doesn’t meet the same fate.

Well, in my second post detailing the makings of my first Thanksgiving, I’ll focus on two important turkey topics: brine and tools. People are serious about their turkey brine so I knew I needed to find a good one. Here areย my two brine-finding tips:

1. Check your fridge first

I started my brine search by first checking to see what ingredients I already had. Gallon of apple cider, apples, lemons, oranges, and celery. That’s gotta be the beginning of a good brine!

2. Google and check reviews

Next I headed to my internet BFF, google, and typed in “apple cider turkey brine.” Voila, the brining world was at my fingertips. How to choose? Reviews, reviews, reviews. Read them! Here’s my awesome brine (I hope).

And now for more shopping! Turkey tools! Luckily, Man BFF and I live across the street from TJ Maxx, so the shopping world is atย our fingertips. Here’s what I bought for the turk (after working out, that’s why my face is red):

1. Baster, thermometer, and lifters

Everyone needs these turkey accessories! Remember, a turkey is done when the thermometer hits 165 degrees. And baste every 30 minutes!

2. Roasting Pan

I know that some people swear by cooking a turkey in an aluminum pan, but isn’t a turkey too heavy for that? I don’t know, but it made me nervous, so I opted for a real roasting pan. Only $8.99 though!

Those are my turkey tips for the day! My turkey is currently thawing in an unconventional way… intrigue.ย More to come tomorrow!

 

2 thoughts on “My First Thanksgiving: Choosing the Brine and the Tools

  1. I love that you are doing this! I am cooking a turkey on Sunday… but haven’t even bought one yet! Don’t think I’ll be using a brine, haha. ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

