A Night at the Opera

On Monday night, Adam and I went to see “The Passenger” at the Lyric Opera in Chicago. Going to the opera is one thing that we haven’t done since living in Chicago. Like almost everything we do in Chicago, or while on vacation, we got a deal on tickets from Travelzoo (people ask me how we can afford to travel so much and the answer is Travelzoo!).

Here I am in our messy bedroom taking a pic of what I wore to the opera. One of the difficult parts of being a late-twentysomething is wanting to shop at Forever 21, but feeling too old. Luckily Love 21  (Forever 21’s less-skantastic line) exists and makes life a little easier. This whole outfit is from Forever 21 (jacket, dress, jewelry) and I feel it successfully looks like a 28-year-old should be wearing it.

IMG_3627

Don’t let my smile confuse you, Adam and I were sick all weekend and I’m still recovering. In fact, my nose was so stuffed-up over the weekend that I wore a nasal strip for 2 days straight (you know, like what snorers wear?) and it bruised my nose! It was much more bruised the day before, but a little ice calmed it down. (My under-eyes look kinda bruised, but that’s just my constant struggle with smudged mascara.)

IMG_3630

Anyway, Adam and I went out for sushi and then hit the Lyric Opera. The last time we went to the opera was in Vienna last year, so we thought we’d fit in, but we soon realized this wasn’t our crowd and we weren’t fancy enough for the Chicago literati draped in diamonds and fur. Especially when I lost one my fake nails.

IMG_3633

IMG_3632

The opera itself was amazing and the singers/orchestra were out of this world. The story was about a post-WW2 German politician and his former SS guard-wife who are traveling via boat to Brazil when his wife sees a woman that looks like someone she guarded in Auschwitz. The story goes back and forth between the SS guard on the boat and flashbacks of Auschwitz. It was heart-wrenching and disturbing, but also artistic and inspiring.

The line that stuck with me most was “It hurts so much to be human.” While there’s no way to remotely relate to the pain people felt at concentration camps, it’s a line that reminds us that everyone experiences pain in life. It’s a great reminder that we all hurt and just want to be loved and we need to work to stop injustice and prejudice when we see it happening, even on a small scale.

 

Leave a Reply

